Aloha Pacific FCU awards $32,000 in scholarships to 16 students

on "October 25, 2019 7:31 am"

Aloha Pacific Federal Credit Union congratulates the 2019 recipients of the Masami Oishi Memorial Scholarships.

Fifteen students each received a $2,000 cash scholarship and a credit union backpack of goodies. In addition, a special $2,000 scholarship for a Kekaha Credit Union member was awarded to honor the scholarship program originated by Kekaha Federal Credit Union. In 2018, Kekaha FCU merged with Aloha Pacific FCU and became a division of APFCU.

This was the 32nd year of the scholarships, named in honor of Masami “Masa” Oishi, who was hired by the credit union in 1965 as its first manager. After more than 27 years of service, Masa retired as president/CEO of the credit union in 1992. After his passing, the scholarship was renamed in his honor.

103119 apfcuscholars

Aloha Pacific FCU awards scholarships annually to students based on financial need, academic achievement and community service. Applicants must be members in good standing of Aloha Pacific FCU and its Divisions for at least one year, enrolled in a baccalaureate or graduate degree program at an accredited college, university or technical school and attend the school on a full-time basis during the award year.